Morcote + Sheep


 

Sketching in public places invariably attracts the attention of other people. Sketching in Morcote today, ( where we live in Switzerland ), an old lady began talking to me. The first thing she told me was her age. ¨I’m 83!¨ she told me, as if it were a badge of honour. ¨I’m 83 and I’ve lived here all my life, and that’s where my sister-in-law lives¨ she said, pointing to the house I was sketching. She then went on to tell me, amongst other things, that when she was small, people kept animals in the houses, downstairs. The underneath of the houses were for animals, pigs, hens, goats or sheep and the upstairs was where people lived. This is difficult to imagine now where even the smaller of these old chicken homes go for the same price as a few of those shiny red Italian sports cars!Piazza Pomèe+sheep Srecia Di Isella, Morcote + sheep

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional

7 comments

  1. Beautiful sketch work, and yeah, sketching in public does attract and interesting and revolving cast of characters.

  2. Wow, these are great!!

  3. Anonymous

    Hi Mark, I would like to contact you directly for some illustration work! Sumit and I are getting married and we have a really cool idea for our wedding card that we would like to discuss! Can you please let me know how I can contact you?

Leave a Reply

