Cool old People


My love of drawing old people continues….I love the distortions that happen as we age, how clothes hang differently and the body changes. I like how old people have their own very particular take on fashion and clothing. Sometimes its a throwback to an earlier era but I think often its arises from the restrictions placed on them by what’s available. They tend to wear more clothes than younger people and this also makes for a different aesthetic. Maybe I won’t appreciate it all so much when I reach the vintage stage of life myself…

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional based in Jutland, Denmark

18 comments

  1. Fiona.q

    i like the 3rd one.

  2. Nice work! Love the old lady.

  3. These are great. I love their expressions.

  4. rsb27

    Wow, these are wonderful. I think you have really captured the spirit and character of each individual!!

  5. I’m sure you know this, but great hunting grounds for interesting oldtimers is in Wetherspoons pubs. You can find some really nice specimens.

    • aahhhh Wetherspoons….the Gucci of the pub world 🙂 BUt joking aside pubs in general are great places to see good faces.

  6. Haha! Wow! I absolutely love this! Such a great idea! You must be a very observant individual to have come up with all these different characters!
    Bravo, I love it!

    Katie

  7. Oh, your sketches are absolutely amazing. Funny… very kool too.

  8. comicspractice

    Those are great pics! I am enjoying reading your journals.

  9. johnlmalone

    terrific sketches. what does umanbn stand for?

    • Hi jonimalone, thank you….it’s a phonetic abbreviation of human being….if you imagine a neanderthal saying it…!

Leave a Reply

