Pulp Fiction


I read a lot and normally when I start a book I HAVE to finish it. But I currently have three books by my bedside which remain, as yet, unfinished. So in desperation I recently turned to some pulp fiction to help me get through this difficult period or at least what I consider pulp fiction;  easy to read, entertaining and not too taxing on the intellect. The book, The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness is the first in a trilogy, aimed at teenagers, (that’s me then) and in the fantasy horror genre, which I have to say is also not my first choice when it comes to subject. It follows the frantic flight of a young boy living on another planet where everyone can read everyone else’s thoughts, except that is for women who can’t be read, (no change there then). It also features a cool and funny talking dog, who’s main preoccupations center around poo and squirrels, or alien squirrels, as we’re on another planet!. The book recently won the Guardian children’s fiction prize. Another pulp fiction novel I read in the same genre, which I could recommend is Suzanne Collins The Hunger Games. Also set in an alien world and also part of a trilogy and similarly fast paced, it is darker and more morally complex than The knife but without its wry humour. This is reality TV taken to the extremes and follows the adventures of Katniss Everdeen a sixteen year old girl, who is forced to appear in a live event called….The Hunger Games, which start with 12 children in a live televized event and ends when there is only one! And while we are on the subject of horror and fantasy I will give you a recommendation for a third fantasy novel though this time I wouldn’t consider it pulp fiction. If I’d read the synopsis first I guess I wouldn’t have read this book but it came recommended to me and although I’m really not a vampire enthusiast this one really is in another league and takes a completely new twist on the genre. Justin Cronin’s The Passage is superb and an extremely dark and unrelenting story set in a post-apocalyptic world, where humans fight for their very existence against a legion of vampires which spread like a virus. If you have never read a horror novel before this would definitely be a good place to start!

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional based in Jutland, Denmark

5 comments

  1. matthew

    Just finished the hunger games. What an awesome read. Shame they’ve made it into a movie though!

    • yup, I think people don’t write books anymore without thinking at the same time how it will be made into a movie…

  2. Nice post Umanbn 🙂

  3. I’m gonna add those to my list. I’m getting tired of reading the same old “Page turner”, formula type suspense thriller.

Leave a Reply

