The Power of Making


On my travels I have stockpiled a fair few objects, toys, dolls, books, stamps and textiles… as well as a heap of sketch books. Why I picked them and what I love about them is man’s and women’s innate use of creativity in describing his world, through the making of toys and objects, whether practical or decorative. The art or craft of making is as old as we are. Mankind has being trying to shape his world in one form or another since he fell from the trees. Either as a way of expressing his thoughts or describing his surroundings. Or, as a way through craftmanship, to improve his life. The art or craft of making objects exists at all levels of skill, from the master craftsman and model-maker to the very elementary figures we carved from plasticine as children. I was hugely impressed by this level of craftsmanship and skill when I visited Museum Rietberg, in Zurich recently. It has a hugely impressive array of artifacts and objects, tracing the global history of mankind’s endeavours to shape his world, dating back thousands of years. Though what actually triggered this post was a look at the current exhibition at the V&A in London, entitled ‘The Power of Making,’ which celebrates the role of making in our lives, in presenting an eclectic selection of over 100 exquisitely crafted objects. I am just annoyed I won’t get chance to actually visit but I would love to hear from anyone who has or will, it looks fascinating.
Peru

Lesotho, South Africa

Peru

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional

One comment

  1. poppytump

    All snuggly in Peru 🙂 Diverse and rich creativity of makers is wonderful .
    Wish I had got to that V&A myself too !

Leave a Reply

