Where does Creativity come from?


Where does creativity come from? Are people born naturally creative? I don’t believe so. I think creativity, like many things is more nurture than nature.Why? I guess my own creativity started as an escape in childhood and from reality of actual living. I guess I’m not the first person in the world to find life difficult sometimes and drawing the world and its people was my way, though not consciously, of studying the world objectively and with some detachment. I then found that this, was a whole world in itself, one of which I was in charge and that was almost completely limitless. And the creative process is like that, you start off at the beginning without necessarily knowing what is at the end.

Being creative allows you to see the world in a different way, it teaches you to be observant and intuitive and make connections between things where others would not.

Some others have said it better.

You can’t wait for inspiration.  You have to go after it with a club.  ~Jack London

To think creatively, we must be able to look afresh at what we normally take for granted.  ~George Kneller

You can’t depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus.  ~Mark Twain

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional

4 comments

  1. Are people born naturally creative? I don’t believe so.

    Id totally have to disagree man. I think the very essence of mankind is as a creative creature.
    From day one way back in time sitting beside a fire it the first thing we did to communicate and express, and through time evolved through art (visual) and song (verbal).

    Its our current society that makes it difficult for the high percentage of people to see the creative path as a option. In fact i think its pretty much discouraged as soon as you start education. We wouldn’t want everyone running around as artists having a nice time now would we, who would run the offices and buy suits? The whole system would fall apart..
    Of course we are born naturally creative, its just if that is nurtured or not. In most its sadly not.
    Well that my opinion…..
    Nice blog btw.
    🙂

    • peterjgillies…I stand corrected. I think your absolutely right. I guess its the nurturing and development that turns us from naturally creative animals into artists/designers/actors etc (along with lots of practice of course)..Thank you for the insight.

  2. This is a really interesting blog post. I agree with much of what you said. However, I’m not sure if being creative is nature, or nurture. I think that it can be either and perhaps is both, depending on the person and their situation and upbringing; I do think that it’ws possible for people to be hard-wired to be more susceptible to certain spheres of talent and ability. But through nurture that susceptibility for a talent can become a passion, a hobby, a skill, etc.

    Either way though, being creative does give you a wonderful thing…. something boundless and limitless that you’re in control of. That ability to have an idea and let it branch out in so many directions, even ones you wouldn’t expect… it doesn’t get better!

    • …trying to express your self creatively can be frustrating but ultimately I feel lucky at being able to do so….and also because I know for sure I´m no naturally gifted mathematician!

Leave a Reply

