Cy Twombly


After a few days away from home I got back to hear the news that my favourite living artist, Cy Twombly, had passed away. I had actually planned to write a post entitled “Is Cy Twombly the greatest living Artist?” Now, I guess not. Certainly, he was for me. I loved the naive, spontaneous and expressive way he worked with all media. He had a fantastic sense of rhythm and colour. His work could be both playful and aggressive, simple and complex, at the same time.  I am not someone who reads a lot about art, our artists. For me for art to work, there should be no need for any explanation. You should not need to know the history of the Artist or his work in order for you to feel a connection. All great art, in which ever field should work on its own merits and for me, at least, Cy Twombly’s worked on every level.

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional based in Jutland, Denmark

6 comments

  1. I like your statement “For me for art to work, there should be no need for any explanation. You should not need to know the history of the Artist or his work in order for you to feel a connection.”

    The connection is everything. And it is personal, I think.

  2. Exactly, it is personal and so different for everyone. Even I can’t explain fully to myself why some art (even my own) works for me and some doesn’t…

  3. Thanks for checking out my blog. I love these pieces you’ve posted.

  4. Pingback: Gillian Wearing im Museum Brandhorst, München. | Stefan Schlögl >>> Journalist

  5. I have followed his career since I first came across him in the seventies. Brilliant and directional.

    • Yeh I love his work…it’s so immediate and seemingly simple, this was one of the earlier posts on my blog and it still gets the most clicks…

Leave a Reply

