Sunday reading – in Patagonia


Did you ever have a book sit in your bookcase for a long time and not read it? Actually, I hate to have any book in my library which I’ve not read.  Yet for some reason there are still some which I haven’t gotten round to reading. I need to be in the right frame of mind to read a particular book, the same with Music. If I pick one up and don’t get a good feeling right off, then I will put it down. Though once I do start I’m committed to the end, even if I’m not particularly enjoying it. That’s why those first few lines are so important. One case in fact was/is in Patagonia – Bruce Chatwin. It sat on my bookshelf for nearly ten years before I finally got round to reading it recently. For some reason every time I picked it up, I couldn’t get beyond the first page. In Patagonia is Chatwin’s account of his journey through “the uttermost part of the earth”, (Patagonia), part travel, part history, anecdotal and adventurous, it now ranks as one of my all time favourites. I love travel and travel writing….I don’t know why I didn’t read it earlier!

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional

3 comments

  1. what a lovely blog-so much good stuff!

    thanks for your post on mine. no, i had no idea what it was going to be, or how it would change my life. still amazing, and still letting it develop organically. i feel my style has changed and developed a lot too-thanks for saying that.

  2. theanarchiclout

    I really like your blog. That is such a boring sentence, but it’s really true. It makes me want to copy it all exactly. Which I think is a compliment 🙂

    • Hi Lucy, thanks you, I’ll take it as a huge compliment….I love your blog too, you have some really beautiful artwork on there…

Leave a Reply

