Frank’s Cafe London


I was back in London for the first time since we left the UK three years ago and was devastated to find that my favourite Cafe had closed down. Frank’s had been serving up typical cafe fare and anglicized versions of Italian food for fifty years. For me it was nearly always a variation of the same, eggs, beans, sausage and chips with a real mug of tea. I think the first time I went there was when I was a student nearly twenty years ago but it really became a regular for me when I first began working in Covent Garden. I later began taking my daughter there and was looking forward to taking her there again on our next visit, as it is one of her earliest and most vivid memories of London, it wasn’t to be. Frank’s had hung on for longer than most in an area which has become more and more homogenized and increasingly less individualistic. Such a shame, I’m not sure when exactly it closed but I’m sure it will be missed by many, myself included. of London.

About Mark Hodgson

Designer and creative professional

3 comments

  1. Matthew

    Covent Garden is now over. Apart from tourists who goes there anymore anyway?

  2. Devastated to hear that Frank’s has closed down. It held so many memories of many years in London. It was part of what real London used to be. I sincerely hope it has not been replaced by another Costa or Nero.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. It was replaced by some tat shop that has since closed and I’m not sure what it is now. But yeh, definitely a shame. I don’t think there are many decent greasy spoons left in that part of London?

Leave a Reply

